VERBAL AUDACITY (Part 1)

Charles Aiyegbusi
3 min readMar 16, 2021

--

Verbal Audacity — Charles Aiyegbusi

I was running late and desperate to get on with my hustle for the day but with a scarcity of fuel in town, commercial motorcycles were hard to come by and the few available were charging me outrageously. Maybe it was the suit or my polished English that was giving them the wrong vibes. Then I went street on them!

The next guy that came was willing to take me for ₦200 (double the normal fare), he was ready to zoom off if I didn’t play ball; bros was not smiling. Then I switched gears and told him in Yoruba laced with Ilorin language vibes that he should just assist me for ₦80 (I wanted to push my luck for the experiment); it worked!

While on the way, he told me about how he had HND but had to make do with being a commercial motorcyclist because he couldn’t secure a job; he told me about his family, his young wife, and his cute younger sister schooling at the University of Ilorin. The power of effective communication in negotiation! I paid less and enjoyed the ride.

Since my return to the ancient (and classy) city of Ilorin, one of the most vital transitions I have had to make is how I speak to and with people. Yoruba people are very sensitive with communication, with or without words. To them, it is not about what you said, it is how you said it when you said it, who was there when you said it, who you said it to, and what you meant that you did not say. They (we) worship words in their proverbs, idioms, different genre of poetry, music, and traditions.

While I have had the privilege of working under the supervision of some of the best communicators I know, I am forever grateful to my Big Brother Sam Attu for his consistent training on verbal audacity through Champions of Destiny Foundation and also to Coach Bobby Joachim for his demonstration and training on communication skills through SkillQuip and Tevuna Limited.

Excellent communication determines the rate and consistency of growth in most aspects of life. I have seen it as an employee, as a business owner (and operator), in the marketplace, and places of worship.

Talking about places of worship, the most eloquent (not necessarily the most accurate) preachers draw the most crowds even when what they are preaching makes no sense or is disconnected from reality. This is Africa, he who knows how to use his mouth (and pen) often wins.

Effective communication is the oil that lubricates our relationships with other people. The better you are at them, the more people you have in your corner, and the better your chances at winning in life.

Why this long preaching? You see, what we do on social media (and the entire internet) is communication and the skill itself may be the most defining factor of success in this networked global economy.

With all thy getting, get wisdom with words, written or vocal. It will get you to the tables of kings; it will guarantee you a share in the marketplaces of the 21st century.

Good morning from the Fortress.

Charles Aiyegbusi,

Team Lead,

Edufortress Africa

--

--

Charles Aiyegbusi

DR Copywriter | Lead Partner @Edufortress Africa | Content manager at Review Fortress